Danse Macabre


 danse_macabre1.jpg

Started this blog in 2006. More than a year now. Why I chose a morbid name like DanseMacabre?

I suppose it is since I’m fascinated with the concept of death. I’m also comforted by the fact that death is the one thing that we all will face. The great equaliser.

Danse Macabre is a French phrase going back to the Medieval times; illustrating the dance of death that all of god’s beings on earth are subject to.

We are all mortals, aren’t we?

Think about it.

the_thinking_dead.jpg

Camille Saint-Saens did a musical piece called Danse Macabre. I love it. Absolutely wicked. Heh Heh.

Go listen here

6 thoughts on “Danse Macabre

  1. Hmmm… and I thought you lifted it off Stephen King’s book of the same name.

    Err… I thought kalau one is a good writer and their word will still carry on after they’re long gone, immortality laa nama nye. Har-har.

    Anyway, Congrats laa! One year? So fast aa? 🙂

  2. Aiya Orang Minyak, gimme more credit laa….

    BTW I did read Stephen King’s Danse Macabre. It was a non fiction work tracing the origins of the horror genre in literature and movies.

    Cool read, I must say. It kinda revived my interest in the pioneers of the genre, like HP Lovecraft, John Wyndham, August Derleth etc…ah, not to forget Ira Levin and his creepy Rosemary’s Baby.

  3. Funny, King is one of my favourites but I’m not sure if I have read his Danse Macabre! In fact, I can’t really remember why he’s such a good story-teller in the first place because I don’t remember many of his stories. The one I can’t forget is a short story called Quit Inc (I think). It’s about a guy who goes to an agency that guarantees it can help you stop smoking. The guy isn’t really that serious about quitting. But he finds that the agency is DEAD serious. Everytime he “steals” a smoke, something bad happens, like his wife loses a finger. But I can’t remember how the story ends.

    Fascination with death has been with men through the ages. I remember one poem that deals with such fascination. First two lines go like this:

    Death, be not proud
    though some have called you mighty and dreadful

    Can’t remember the rest, or how the poem ends. I need mi rebus everyday to help remember.

  4. I think the Quit Inc story was part of his short stories. Seems like one of those creepy additions to the anthogies I love.

    Can’t remember King’s stories Rocky? I thot they r pretty vivid. In fact, I had nightmares reading Salem’s Lot.

  5. ‘Tis but thy name that is my enemy;
    Thou art thyself, though not a Montague.
    What’s Montague? it is nor hand, nor foot,
    Nor arm, nor face, nor any other part
    Belonging to a man. O, be some other name!
    What’s in a name? that which we call a rose
    By any other name would smell as sweet;
    So Romeo would, were he not Romeo call’d,
    Retain that dear perfection which he owes
    Without that title. Romeo, doff thy name,
    And for that name which is no part of thee
    Take all myself.

  6. Happy anniversary to Danse Macabre!

    I totally understand anyone’s fascination with Death. Life, after all, is fatal. 😀

Leave a Reply

