Voting for change


The winds of election blows, for now it is still sepoi sepoi bahasa. Some friends say lepas Raya. That’d be October, unlikely. Others say December. Tengkujuh laa…think of those people in the East Coast. Yet others go on to say Jan, Feb, or March 2008. I think it is the latter two months, possibly after Chinese New Year.

However, sooner or later, you (yes you, you and you with the spectacles, I see you) and I will have to exercise our democratic right to vote. I hope you have taken care of that little technicality called voter registration. If you haven’t, you probably shouldn’t be reading about us bloggers bitching about the sorry state of affairs in the soon-to-be 50 year-old Malaysia.

This will be the fourth General Election in which I will vote. I registered in my hometown of J, in some remote corner of Negri Sembilan. I still vote there. It’s an excuse to balik kampung and meet my people. I’m sentimental about things like this. For three past elections, I was working on polling day but I woke up early and drove for two and a half hours just to cast my vote. I hope to do the same this coming election.

It seems that Jeff Ooi, who announced his entry into the Democratic Action Party (DAP), and tech-whiz Tony Pua who is already a member, may be running in the next elections. I will not talk too much about how these two will fare in the DAP which has demonstrated dynastic politics very much like Umno, or if these earnest men will get frustrated in the long run.

If they do get elected, hey! That will be two bloggers in Parliament. Is that cool or is that cool? : )

I applaud their enthusiasm, guts and the publicly-declared desire for a more equitable Malaysia. If DAP goes on this way, it may pave the way for more (hopefully idealistic) young men and women to come into politics. There is increasing indication that Malaysians are not bodoh and that they demand more. But whether the present electorate can change things, well, I’m not optimistic. Read Mat Salo’s take on why i’m not.

But then, some wise guy said, the journey of a thousand miles starts with the first step. We all have to start somewhere. Jeff has a personal manifesto. Go check it out, if you haven’t already.

At the rate the Netizens are making news in Malaysia, maybe there should be a Net constituency, as was said by Aisehman and some commenter in his blog.

Whatever said and done, it is time to choose. So think hard people. For Malaysia to be prosperous and competitive, we need to weed out graft (starting with the people who practice them), follow HRH Raja Nazrin’s words on rejecting people with shady past from taking public office.

Weed out mediocrity. Of course wherever there is a large civil service, there is bound to be mediocrity (unless you pay top dollar like Singapore). However, to weed out mediocrity, graft, abuse of power and money politics, well you can start with changing your elected representatives.

Yeah, this means kicking out the close-one-eye politicians (wake up, people of Jasin), those whose mouths always bocor, resulting in verbal diarhoea that usually raises a stink. (I’m calling out to the people of Kinabatangan here).

What about those who talk for talk’s sake, bullying other MPs. Lemme see, Seri Gading, Jerai…that Padang Rengas kapakman for the ruling party who loves to say things like bloody racist!bodoh bodoh bodoh bodoh bodoh.

While you are at it, maybe you should get rid of the likes of Taiping who sensationalises a lotta stuff to stay relevant and of course, long long overdue, Sungai Siput. Though I must say, in his case, he has done some work, despite the public’s fondness in making him a laughingstock. Time to go, and rescue that son of yours Uncle!

5 thoughts on “Voting for change

  1. The problem with many of us is that we don’t care and we don’t intend to register as a voter. Usual reasons given are like not interested in politics, politics is not going to help, politicians are all the same, etc.

    Of course, this is what we so-called Chinese mentality: Selfish, kiasu and kiasi. Things change when something bad strike them, which directly/indirectly happen onto their families/relatives/friends.

    That’s when they started to complain, grumbling on what’s happening around us here and there and realize that: Oh, it’s time for me to do something. It’s time for me to register as a voter. It’s time for me to exercise my constitutional right and vote for change, etc.

    Funny if you ask me. At one hand, we desire for change, but on the other hand, many of us are doing, basically nothing to make things change.

    Come this GE, I plead every eligible voters to vote, if everyone believes that their little votes count, this country will change, for good.

  2. I believe that the Chinese community will act, and act decisively, when it is a question of economy (i.e their rice bowl)

    Most people are kiasu, if u ask me SK. Can’t count myself among the ranks of those, but I grew up reading and thinking about these things a lot. I guess one has to be a minority to be firmly reminded of one’s place in the greater scheme of things.

    If you ask me, the govt has been encouraging the general apathy of the voting public, and the public at large. Why? Cos it will never do to have a thinking and therefore critical populace. This has been the lesson throughout history. Certain leaders in the distant past has denied education to the masses because they know what a potent weapon knowledge is.

    Thanx for visiting, SK. Sudah balik ah?

  3. No problem, your blog is always on my radar, if you notice my sidebar.

    I got back to KL 2 weeks ago and currently at the airport waiting to fly out again.

    Don’t worry, I’ll be back on the day of Bangsa Malaysia Hari Merdeka get-together, see you during the second half!

    From there, we can catch up, all right?

    Till then, take care.

Leave a Reply

